View information on our visitor policy. >>

Information about coming with a patient for their appointment, test or surgery. >>

Student Centre

Education Achievement Day

Image of Education Achievement Day

Dean Catherine Whiteside and Dr. Patricia Houston

Image of Education Achievement Day

Dr. Doug Sinclair

Image of Education Achievement Day

Vice-Dean Dr. Ivan Silver and Dr. Mona Moosavian

Image of Education Achievement Day

Wendy Cecil and Dr. David Chan

Image of Education Achievement Day

Vice-Dean Sal Spadafora and Dr.Vikram Prabhudesai

Image of Education Achievement Day

Outstanding Postgraduate Teacher Award winners

Image of Education Achievement Day

Friends of the Academy Award winners Sonya Surbek and Dragana Markovic

Every year, St. Michael’s honours its physician educators at the Education Achievement Day Award Ceremony. The annual breakfast ceremony is hosted by the vice-president of Education and features St. Michael’s CEO and senior management.  This event pays tribute to the exceptional achievements in medical education by our physicians, medical residents and staff.

2010 Honorees

Guest Speaker: Dr. Doug Sinclair “The Minefield and Chaos of Continuing Professional Development - Implications for Medical Educators”

Family Medicine
Award for Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education - Dr. Abbas Ghavam-rassoul

Best Surgical Ophthalmology Award Winner - Dr. Bill Macrae
Best Medical Ophthalmology Award Winner- Dr. Peter Girschek

Medical Imaging
Radiologist of the Year - Dr. Walter Montanera and Dr. Vikram Prabhudesai

Education Achievement Award - Dr. Douglas Campbell
Award for Clinical Teaching - Dr. Tony Barozzino

Fitzgerald Academy
Clinical Teacher Award - Dr. Mike Wong and Dr. Darren Sukerman
PBL Teacher Award - Dr. David Chan
Clerkship Award - Dr Yuna Lee
Master Teacher Award - Dr Vincent Chien
Resident Teacher Award - Dr. Stephanie Backman, Dr. Ryan Van Wert, Dr. Jonathan Ailon
Friends of the Academy Award - Sonya Surbek and Dragana Markovic

William Noble Award - Dr. Brian Pollard
Art Dunn Undergraduate Award - Dr. Vince Hughes
Art Dunn Postgraduate Award - Dr. Bob Byrick

Donald J. Currie Undergraduate Teaching Award - Dr. John Bohnen
Leo Mahoney Resident Teaching Award - Dr. Shady Ashmalla
William Horsey Postgraduate Teaching Award - Dr. Robert Stewart
Jameel Ali Continuing Education Award - Dr. Emil Schemitsch
Paul McGoey Teaching Award - Dr. Shayne Keetbaas

Laboratory Medicine
Kalman Kovacs Award - Undergraduate Teaching - Dr. Cathy Streutker
Bernadette Garvey - Postgraduate Teaching - Dr. Eleanor Latta
Arthur Vandenbroucke Award - Laboratory Technologists and Technicians - Katerina Pavenski

Excellence in undergraduate teaching - Dr. Deborah Robertson
Sustained Excellence in postgraduate teaching - Dr. Donna Steele

Dr. Murray Muirhead Postgraduate Awards - PGY1 Dr. Jonathan Ailon, PGY2 Dr. Mona Moosavian, PGY3 Dr. Alim Hirji
Dr. J.J. Connon Award - Dr. Ryan van Wert
Outstanding Postgraduate Teacher Awards - Dr. Chaim Bell, Dr. Irfan Dhalla, Dr. David Hall, Dr. Yuna Lee, Dr. Ophyr Mourad, Dr. Rob Sargeant, Dr. Christine Simmons, Dr. Andrew Yan
Dr. Gerald Wong Award - Dr. Yuna Lee
Dr. Luigi Casella Award - Dr. Neil Fam

Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Medical Education - Dr. Shree Bhaleerao and Dr. Harold Spivak
Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education - Dr. David Robertson
Award for Excellence in Continuing Medical Education - Dr. Shree Bhalerao

St. Michael's Hospital Emergency Medicine Teacher of the Year 2010 - Dr. Christopher Hicks

Complete Physician Award 2010 - Dr. David Chan

Education Achievement Day Winners

2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010