View information on our visitor policy. >>

Information about coming with a patient for their appointment, test or surgery. >>

Student Services

Awards and events

Medical Education Achievement Day for Physicians

Every year, St. Michael’s honours its physician educators at the Education Achievement Day Award ceremony. The annual breakfast ceremony is hosted by the vice-president, Education and features St. Michael’s CEO and senior management. This event pays tribute to the exceptional achievements in medical education by our physicians, medical residents and staff.


Our 2015 winners:

Department Award(s) Award Winner(s)
Board of Directors Complete Physician Award Dr. Kenneth Pace
Student Centre & DFCM Philip Berger Advocacy Award Dr. Amanda Sawyer
Ophthalmology Surgical Ophthalmology Teaching Award Dr. Rajeev Muni
  Medical Ophthalmology Teaching Award Dr. Nupura Bakshi
  Dr. Michael Shea Commitment to Ophthalmology Education Award Dr. Alan Berger
Emergency Medicine Emergency Medicine Teacher of the Year Dr. Thomas Kaul
Family & Community Medicine Award for Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education Dr. Marc Lebeau
  Collaborator Award For Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education Betty Upward
Inner City Health Inner City Health Program Medical Staff Social Responsibility Education Award Dr. Adriana Carvalhal
Pediatrics Excellence in Neonatal Intensive Care Teaching Dr. Tony Barozzino
  Excellence in Ambulatory Pediatric Teaching Dr. Ra Han
Anesthesia William Noble Fellowship Teaching Award Dr. Claude Tousignant
  Art Dunn Postgraduate Education Award Dr. Nick Lo
  Art Dunn Undergraduate Education Award Dr. Bok Chan
Surgery Donald J. Currie Undergraduate Teaching Award Dr. Ori Rotstein
  William Horsey Post-Graduate Teaching Award Dr. Michael McKee
  Jameel Ali Continuing Education Award Dr. Michael Cusimano
  Squires-Hyland Trust James Waddell Mentoring Award Dr. John Honey
  Paul McGoey Teaching Award Dr. Jesse Wolfstadt
  Leo Mahoney Resident Teaching Award Dr. Daniel Abramowitz
Obstetrics & Gynecology Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Dr. Tatiana Freire-Lizama
  Sustained Excellence in Postgraduate Teaching Dr. Mark Yudin
  Paul McCleary Award Dr. Deborah Robertson
  Antonio Cecutti Prize  Dr. Andrea Simpson
Medicine Dr. Murray Muirhead Postgraduate Awards Jasmine Grenier, PGY1
Kieran Quinn, PGY2
Richard Dunbar-Yaffe, PGY3
  Dr. J.J. Connon Award Dr. Nigel Tan
  Outstanding Postgraduate Teacher Awards Dr. Jonathan Ailon
Dr. Samir Grover
Dr. Trevor Jamieson
Dr. Kieran McIntyre
Dr. Dan Selchen
Dr. Natalie Wong
  Dr. Gerald Wong Award Dr. Jonathan Ailon
  Dr. Luigi Casella Award Dr. Kamran Ahmad
  Robert H. Hyland Teacher of the Year Award Dr. Martina Trinkaus
Medical Imaging Professor Ronald W. McCallum Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Quality, Innovation and Research in Medical Imaging Dr. Anish Kirpalani
  Professor William J. Weiser Award for Excellence in Teaching of Medical Imaging Residents and Fellows Dr. Djeven Deva
Laboratory Medicine Kalman Kovacs Award for Undergraduate Teaching Dr. David Munoz
  Bernadette Garvey Award for Postgraduate Teaching Dr. Henry Jakubovic
  Arthur Vandenbroucke Award – Laboratory Technologists & Technicians Dr. Hasan Ghaffar
Psychiatry Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Medical Education Dr. Tim Guimond
  Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education Dr. David Robertson
  Award for Excellence in Continuing Medical Education Dr. Matthew Levy
  Aileen Meagher Resident Award for Best Grand Rounds Presentation Dr. Crystal Pinto, PGY-5
Student Experience Committee 2015 Student Experience Award Information Technology Services Team
FitzGerald Academy ASCM Teacher Award Dr. Dominic Lehnert
Dr. Louise Perlin
  PBL Teacher Award Dr. David MacKinnon
  DOCH Teacher Award Dr. Jennifer McCabe
  Clerkship Award Dr. James Owen
  Resident Teacher Award Dr. Garry Thomas
Dr. Claudia Garcia
Dr. Jordan Silverman
  Master Teacher Dr. Akshay Bagai
  Friends of the Academy Edwin Ang
  Longitudinal Integrated Clerkship Award Dr. Robert Stewart

Health Disciplines Professional Practice and Education Awards

Every year, the hospital’s Health Disciplines Professional Practice and Education celebrates the practice and education contributions of our clinicians across the Health Disciplines. Quality and safety leaders - 2015 Interprofessional Collaboration Award winners Our 2015 winners are:
  • Education Excellence Award: Norman Dewhurst, Clinical Pharmacy
  • Clinical Excellence Award: Jodi Skinner, Speech-Language Pathology
  • Scholarship Award: Mark Naccarato, Clinical Pharmacy
  • Leadership Award : Christy Pickles, Occupational Therapy
  • Interprofessional Collaboration Award : Quality and Safety Leaders (above photo):
    • Laura Shapiro, OT
    • Rebecca Bunston, PT
    • Abelardino Manabat, RN
    • Ann Rodrigues, RN
    • Beth Davidson, RN
    • Wendy (Dong Wei) Xu, RN
    • Grace Fryfogel, RN
    • Kate Little, CA
    • Li Zhang, RN
    • Sinead Gordon, RN


Mouse over the thumbnail images below to see larger versions.



Previous winners

2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010