View information on our visitor policy. >>

Information about coming with a patient for their appointment, test or surgery. >>

Student Services

Awards and events

Medical Education Achievement Day for Physicians

Every year, St. Michael’s honours its physician educators at the Education Achievement Day Award ceremony. The annual breakfast ceremony is hosted by the vice-president, Education and features St. Michael’s CEO and senior management. This event pays tribute to the exceptional achievements in medical education by our physicians, medical residents and staff.


Our 2014 winners:

The Complete Physician Award - Dr. Eva Mocarski

Dr. Philip Berger Advocacy Award - Dr. Kathryn Dorman

Family Medicine
Award for Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education – Dr. William Watson
Collaborator Award For Outstanding Contribution to Medical Education - Dr. Melinda Glassford

Inner City Health
Medical Staff Social Responsibility Education Award – Dr. Gordon Arbess

Medical Imaging
Professor Ronald W. McCallum Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Quality, Innovation and Research in Medical Imaging – Dr. Anish Kirpalani
Professor William J. Weiser Award for Excellence in Teaching of Medical Imaging Residents and Fellows – Dr. Dipanka Sarma

Surgical Ophthalmology Teaching Award – Dr. James Oestreicher
Medical Ophthalmology Teaching Award – Dr. Alan R. Berger
Dr. Michael Shea Commitment to Ophthalmology Education Award – Dr. Trevor Chin Fook
St. Michael's Ophthalmology Urban Angel Award – Dr. Myrna Lichter

Excellence in Neonatal Intensive Care Teaching – Dr. Douglas Campbell
Excellence in Ambulatory Pediatric Teaching – Dr. Jillian Baker

William Noble Award - Dr. Brian Pollard
Art Dunn Undergraduate Award – Dr. Uma Shastri
Art Dunn Postgraduate Award – Dr. Robert Chen

Department of Surgery

Donald J. Currie Undergraduate Teaching Award – Dr. Jeremy Hall
Dr. Leo Mahoney Resident Teaching Award – Dr. Matt Strickland
William Horsey Postgraduate Teaching Award – Dr. Emil Schemitsch
Jameel Ali Continuing Education Award – Dr. Teodor Grantcharov
Paul McGoey Teaching Award – Dr. Nick Bayley
Squires-Hyland Trust James Waddell Mentoring Award - Dr. Alan Lossing

Laboratory Medicine
Kalman Kovacs Award for Undergraduate Teaching – Dr. Eleanor Latta
Bernadette Garvey Award for Postgraduate Teaching – Dr. George Yousef
Arthur Vandenbroucke Award – Laboratory Technologists & Technicians - Dr. Michelle Sholzberg

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching – Dr. Eva Mocarski
Award for Sustained Excellence in Postgraduate Teaching – Dr. Donna Steele
Paul McCleary Award – Dr. Karen Tessler
Antonio Cecuttic Prize  - Dr. Julia Kfouri

Department of Medicine
Dr. Murray Muirhead Postgraduate Awards - PGY1 Laura Walker, PGY2 Nathan Stall, PGY3 Amol Verma
Dr. J.J. Connon Award – Dr. Reena Pattani
Outstanding Postgraduate Teacher Awards – Dr. Vera Dounaevskaia, Dr. Jeremy Edwards, Dr. Trevor Jamieson, Dr. Kieran Mcintyre, Dr. Darrell Tan, Dr. Martina Trinkaus, Dr.Camilla Wong
Dr. Gerald Wong Award – Dr. Jonathan Ailon
Dr. Luigi Casella Award – Dr. Jeremy Edwards
Robert H. Hyland Teacher of the Year Award – Dr. Yuna Lee

Emergency Medicine
Emergency Medicine Teacher of the Year – Dr. Rachel Poley

Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Medical Education – Dr. Harold Spivak
Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education – Dr. Shree Bhalerao
Award for Excellence in Continuing Medical Education – Dr. Shree Bhalerao
Aileen Meagher Resident Award for Best Grand Rounds Presentation – Danielle Baribeau & Roisin Byrne

FitzGerald Academy
Student Experience Award - Kristen Rowberry
ASCM Teacher Award – Dr. Ayaaz Sachedina and Dr. Allison Lou
PBL Teacher Award – Dr. Catherine Yu
DOCH II Teacher Award – Dr. Susan Shepherd
Clerkship Award  - Dr. Reena Pattani
Resident Teacher Award – Dr. Gianni Lorello, Dr. Ahmed Kayssi and Dr. Baruch Jakubovic
Master Teacher – Dr. Stephen Hwang
Friends of the Academy – Dr. Erika Unelli

Health Disciplines Professional Practice and Education Awards

Every year, the hospital’s Health Disciplines Professional Practice and Education celebrates the practice and education contributions of our clinicians across the Health Disciplines.

Our 2014 winners are:

  • Education Excellence Award: Diana Seko-Challenger, occcupational therapy assistant
  • Clinical Excellence Award: Carmen Morris, social worker
  • Scholarship Award: Sandi Williams, registered dietitian
  • Leadership Award : Erika Szego, physiotherapist
  • Interprofessional Collaboration Award : Prescription for Education Team (above photo):
    • Maureen Riley (occupational therapist)
    • Melissa Heidebrecht (occupational therapist)
    • Caroline Jones (physiotherapist)
    • Angelo Papachristos (physiotherapist)
    • Dr. Rachel Shupak
    • Carol Kennedy (research associate)
    • Sasha Miles (registered dietitian)
    • Donna Scaffidi (registered dietitian)
    • Shea MacKenzie (registered nurse)
    • Sofia Vasconcelos (admin/medical secretary)
    • Beverly Hearty (chaplain)
    • Kevin Curley (pharmacist)


Mouse over the thumbnail images below to see larger versions.



Previous winners

2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010