Heart & Vascular Program

Heart Health

Lifestyle: Diet

The following principles apply to all people, including those with heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure and those who are trying to achieve a healthy body weight.

Every day, choose a variety of foods from the four food groups detailed by Canada's Food Guide in order to ensure that you are getting all the vitamins and minerals that you need.

  • Five to 12 servings of grain products
  • Five to 10 servings of fruits and vegetables
  • Two to four servings of low-fat milk products
  • Two to three servings of lean meats, fish, and alternatives

If you are trying to lose weight, aim for the lower end of the serving range. Those who are very physically active and who do not need to lose weight may need to eat the higher range of servings a day. A good rule of thumb is to eat three of the four food groups at each meal. For specific information on serving sizes, view Canada's Food Guide.